Mia Bella D’Augelli

Mia Bella D’Augelli is a violinist based in Oakland, CA. As a performer, she plays solo in various settings – falling in and out of notation – and is a member of the Town Quartet (a traditional string quartet) and the Redwood Tango Ensemble (a sextet for milongas and new tango chamber music). She plays periodically with other chamber ensembles, symphonies, pit orchestras, and pop groups, including as interim assistant concertmaster with the North State Symphony for the 2017-18 season, and as assistant principal 2nd violin with Livermore Valley Opera. She has worked closely with composers of today such as David Behrman, Ian Carey, Brett Carson, Andrew Jamieson, George Lewis, Mateo Lugo, Roscoe Mitchell, Aaron Novik, and Lewis Patzner. Her collaborations often include venues that are not a concert hall, from art galleries to bars and living rooms.
Mia Bella also composes and works to explore sound from many vantage points through improvisation. Studying with Gloria Justen, she received a BA in Music Performance from Mills College in 2014. In the chamber music arena, she worked with Joan Jeanrenaud, William Winant, and Robert Schwartz, while improvisation studies ensued with Roscoe Mitchell and Fred Frith. As a teacher, she is attentive to each player’s drive to learn, exploring technique and musicianship with the help of established method books and personally developed material. Students are encouraged to use their own knowledge of music to create pieces and exercises as they progress.

Support us

Support Once

Support Monthly

$5.00 $10.00
$25.00 $50.00

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Content is protected !!